Choices, Choices

Well, i was just browsing for a camera. Like i said previously my trustee Casio ZX5 broke, I’m currently using my friend’s Ixus 70. Well someone suddenly appears on my desk…

Choices, choices

Choices, choices

Choices, choices

Choices, choices

Choices, choices

Choices, choices

Choices, choices

So, what do you guys think? Head dive into Micro Four Thirds with interchangeable lens, or just get a really powerful pocket with a top grade lens and image processor?

11 Replies to “Choices, Choices”

  1. I guess at the end of the day, it depends on what sort of pictures you want to take. Then, all of you have to do is consider if the camera in question can achieve those qualities. I’m using Canon S95. It’s no DSLR but I’m happy with what I can get out of it. Portability and good quality pictures were my only criteria back then I suppose. Oh, and price too >.<

    Like

    1. I’m thinking of the A3300 or the S100 since they have good noise control up to iso 200. But the EPL1 and the GF3 offers interchangeable lens without the monstrous size of a common dslr

      Like

  2. For the price of some of those micro 4/3rds I would say an entry level DSRL is a better choice, with a little time investment taking good looking pictures is easier and you have more options for lenses and such.

    If you really, really want a compact camera I recommend the Lumix LX5. Uses the same 4/3rds sensor as the , has great performance with low light conditions and you get the same level of control as you get with a DSLR.

    If you have the money though, one of those interchangeable lens micro 4/3rds cameras should do the trick.

    Like

    1. I was thinking of a camera that i can also use for daily work. Since i own a diner i need a pullout-shoot-putback quickly so entry level DSLRs are out of the question, that’s why i put more emphasis on Micro 4/3rds and powerful Prosumer cameras

      Like

      1. In that case, I whole heartily recommend the LX5 then, even more so if you get the retractable lens cap. I used it plenty in low light conditions in restaurants and it has performed quite well.

        Like

  3. I’d go for a good compact with a good lens, optical stabilizers, good imaging sensor + processor with a good (close-range) macro distance. It provides a good draw and shoot.

    I used to want a DSLR but I took a delay-time to the knee. Yeah, lame Skyrim joke. lol.
    But after using my friend’s DSLR I find it waaaay to cumbersome to do my stories. Since my friend don’t have a tripod…

    Like

    1. 3 Cameras fill that role then, from the bottom tier to top:

      Canon PowerShot A3300IS – Sony Cybershot WX10 – Nikon P7100 – Panasonic Lumix LX5 – Canon G12/G1X

      I was thinking about the micro fourthirds such as the EPL-1 etc too but that means i need to buy more lenses and stuff. Tripods are negligible since i have 2 types of Tripods (Joby’s Gorilla Pods) one for pocket sized cams and one for DSLRs (accidentally bought when i didn’t know Gorilla Pods came in different sizes…)

      And no lol skyrim jokes are permissible as long as it’s not overused XD

      Like

  4. Get a Nikon N1. I’ve tested it the other day at their retail shop and it was soooo awesome. If I were to go compact I would go with it. With over 40 frame rate for videos, damn that is awesome. Don’t let me start about the picture quality. It is worth buying one but of course pricy like one of those entry level of a DSLR. But it is compact of course and more powerful than the normal entry level DSLR.

    I have a Canon 5D Mark II, so I don’t think you are going to get one. I do it for my assignments and some part time work (wedding photographies).

    The best compact camera for me right now is Nikon N1. But i’m not so sure if you are on a budget or not. So yeah, if you don’t mind spending a bit more money on a good camera, than Nikon N1 is the way to go.

    Like

      1. It is of course expensive but really worth the buck. Other good stuff about it would be that you can use a Nikon Lens for the DSLR to be used with the compact camera, with the aid of a converter of course.

        Like

Speak your mind

